Inspiration

Some might say that copy editing, proofreading, and indexing are uninspiring. You work behind the scenes, invisible to everyone except the other production staff. Rarely are you mentioned in the acknowledgments of the books you come to know so intimately. The work can feel mechanical or dry, and overly focused on minutiae.

So what is a girl to do to find inspiration?

I surround myself with colleagues who bring me joy, even if only from afar. I tweet with them. We share links and chat on Facebook. I volunteer with them. We discuss the publishing world, freelancing, and words we love on LinkedIn.

Suddenly I have writers, editors, and journalists all around me. They help me believe I can write, and edit better, and be a more successful freelancer. Sometimes I can’t remember how we met, but I’m ever so glad we did.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

